News from Washington

January 19, 2023

Secretary Vilsack comments on upcoming Farm Bill

Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack expressed that he wants the next farm bill to include reforms for disaster relief and focus more on farmers who have not done as well financially in recent years. Secretary Vilsack said that existing disaster programs are not as equipped to address varying regional needs or cover damage from unusual storms. He also announced a new round of assistance under the temporary USDA Emergency Relief Program, which will use $10 billion in ad hoc disaster funding authorized last year for 2020 and 2021 losses.

House Committee on Agriculture members selected for the 118th Congress

On Monday, Jan. 16, 2023, the House Republican Steering Committee selected the Republican members to serve on the House Agriculture Committee for the 118th Congress. Returning members selected to serve on include Rep. Glenn "GT"

Thompson (PA-15) - Chairman, Rep. Austin Scott (GA-08), Rep. Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Rep. Doug LaMalfa (CA-01), Rep. David Rouzer (NC-07), Rep. Trent Kelly (MS-01), Rep. Don Bacon (NE-02), Rep. Dusty Johnson (SD-At Large), Rep. Jim Baird (IN-04), Rep. Tracey Mann (KS-01), Rep. Mary Miller (IL-15), Rep. Barry Moore (AL-02), Rep. Kat Cammack (FL-03), and Rep. Brad Finstad (MN-01). The new members selected to serve on the Committee include Rep. Frank Lucas (OK-03), Rep. John Rose (TN-06), Rep. Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Rep. Mark Alford (MO-04), Rep. Lori Chavez-DeRemer (OR-05), Rep. Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Rep. John Duarte (CA-13), Rep. Nick Langworthy (NY-23), Rep. Max Miller (OH-07), Rep. Marc Molinaro (NY-19), Rep. Zach Nunn (IA-03), and Rep. Derrick Van Orden (WI-03).