United Egg Producers Recognizes Industry Leaders at Annual Conference

October 22, 2019

2019-2020 Officer Team Selected to Lead National Egg Farmer Cooperative

John’s Creek, GA (October 21, 2019) – At United Egg Producers’ (UEP) annual executive conference, held in White Sulphur Springs, West Virginia, the organization recognized and celebrated three individuals who have made a lasting impact on the U.S. egg farming community. Egg industry leaders Brian Barrett of Bryan, Texas; Des Yawn of Atlanta, Georgia; and Jeffrey Goward of Peoria, Arizona were recognized at UEP’s awards dinner on October 16, 2019. UEP also elected officers to lead the organization’s Board of Directors.

Brian Barrett has been an active member of UEP, serving on the organization’s board since 2002.  In 2017 Barrett was elected chairman of the UEP Board of Directors. During his tenure, Barrett helped guide the egg industry through many issues, including hen housing, animal well-being, food safety and environmental responsibility. Barrett was awarded UEP’s 2019 Egg Producer of the Year.

For decades, Des Yawn has been a valued business partner, advisor, industry supporter and friend to UEP and he received the President’s Award. An expert in loss prevention and control, Yawn is a senior vice president at Palomar Insurance,  and leads the Palomar team, which provides insurance guidance and solutions to UEP farmer-members.

Jeff Goward was recognized for his dedicated leadership, serving as allied chairman of the United Egg Association for the past two years.  Goward has been an active member of the egg farming community for more than 30 years, and works for Sanovo Technology where he serves as a regional sales manager.

“On behalf of our entire egg farming community, it is my honor to recognize these three individuals for their significant contributions to this organization and their steadfast commitment to the U.S. egg farming community,” said Chad Gregory, president and CEO of UEP. “These industry leaders have been tireless advocates for egg production and dedicated leaders within UEP, helping build stability within the industry and positioning our members for a  sustainable future.”

UEP also elected its new slate of Board officers at their meeting on Thursday, October 17, 2019. These are egg producers Tom Hertzfeld, Jr., of Ohio as chairman; Craig Giroux of New York as vice chairman; Mike West of California as treasurer; and J.T. Dean of Iowa as secretary.

# # #

CONTACT:           Hinda Mitchell, 614.537.8926

 About UEP

United Egg Producers (UEP) is a cooperative of U.S. egg farmers working collaboratively to address legislative, regulatory and advocacy issues impacting the industry through active farmer-member leadership, a unified voice and partnership across the agriculture community. UEP’s farmer-members work to provide for the health and well-being of their birds; to produce safe, nutritious, high-quality eggs; and to manage their farms responsibly with best on-farm management practices. Leadership of and participation in the UEP Certified program by the vast majority of egg producers further demonstrates a broad commitment to the care of egg-laying hens. UEP also manages the national Egg Safety Center, a leading resource for consumer and industry information on the safe production of eggs and prevention of disease. Formed in 1968, UEP members represent more than 90 percent of US egg production.